If a message you sent has been seen by the recipient, the status "Read" is displayed under the sent message and additionally marked with a blue check mark. In the same way, other participants will also recognize whether you have read a received message. If a message has been sent but not seen, this is initially indicated by the status "Sent" and a gray check mark.
In group conversations with multiple participants, the read receipt does not appear until a message has been seen by all participants.
Turn off read receipts
You can set whether to indicate that you have read a received message on in the privacy settings. By default, read confirmation is enabled. In the XING apps, you can deactivate the read receipt in the settings there. This setting always applies automatically to all devices on which you use your XING account.
If you deactivate the read receipt, you will also no longer be able to see whether your sent messages have been seen by the recipients.